I approach this post with just a tad of trepidation and remorse.
As most of you know I have been doing my own NFL "Boycott" this year over the National Anthem/Kneeling Issue. Why? Well certainly not because President Trump bitched, I actually got pissed at his intervention (I stopped watching before he weighed in), just as I got pissed when our prior President weighed in on the Washington "Redskins" controversy. Each of them was simply using a contemporary issue to throw red meat to their supporters. (Actually Presidents for years have tried to score points with sports) My beef I thought was very, very simple, and it had nothing to do with who was President or any players right to "Free Speech".
When a bunch of players decided to make a "statement" by kneeling during the National Anthem my thinking was why don't you guys kneel about all the violence against women committed by NFL Thugs, how bout protesting record high out of wedlock births among families, how bout drug violence, or Chicago Murder and Gang rates???? I decided I did not want to spend my time watching an event where we lead off with a political statement which has the intent of pitching tribe against tribe. I get those everywhere I turn, day in and day out.
In retrospect my reaction was as much "tribal" as the players kneeling, My mantra to all of you became "Why keep watching so these players can poke you with a stick every Sunday afternoon?" I then proceeded to miss the best season in my beloved Eagles History. I also risked alienating some of my friends who love the NFL as I continued to rant about the politicization of our last "safe haven" (You know guys, a place where we could escape politics for a moment and unite both Progressives, Conservatives etc by discussing players performance , coaches, games and all our shared football history without getting into our ever more isolated tribal instincts). Of course now, as I write this, I realize it was me as much as the players who was politicizing the issue! My intelligent NFL loving friends on this blog ignored all that stuff ( and my rants) and just watched and enjoyed their beloved teams games, which after all was what it is about for them ...and could have been for me as well.
So belatedly my regret:
So belatedly my regret:
I MISSED ONE OF THE GREATEST EAGLES SEASONS EVER!!!!!
Which brings me full circle to my blog followers who fall into two tribes.
Tribe one: the Pats Fans:
John Delnegro, Steve Clark and Howard Alpert.
Tribe two: all Diehard Eagles Fans:
Ellsworth Whiteman, Phil Gocke, Lester Wurfel and my son James.
(Side Note John and Ellsworth are both also "Giants Fans" who must now stay in the closet after the Giants season)
As for me I am just glad I decided to suspend my stupid "protest" and catch the Eagles and Pats wins last week and I was happy with both outcomes! As a lifelong Eagles Fan I grew to like the Pats (and even a few of their fans) during my "New England" years.
So know I must leave with a final thought on the big game tomorrow. After all I am as tribal as any lifelong fan.
Minnesota better Grease those Poles because the Pats are going down!!!


Fly Eagles Fly
On the road to victory
Fight, Fight, Fight
Fight Eagles Fight
Score a touchdown 123
123
Hit 'em low
Hit 'em high
And watch our Eagles fight
Fly Eagles Fly
On the road to victory
E-A-G-L-E-S!
Eagles!
You forgot that in 1981 we had a Super bowl party when we served 'Michiganders' all those famous Philly foods: Cheesesteaks, scrapple, soft pretzels, and vanilla ice cream. We discussed that terrible loss and not in keeping with tradition, tomorrow we will serve New England Clam Chowder and hope for a different outcome. Fly Eagles Fly!
ReplyDeleteWell said recantment.
ReplyDeleteGo Iggles
P